The Dreamseller

The Dreamseller

The Calling : A Novel

Book - 2011
Rate this:
In the vein of The Alchemist and The Celestine Prophecy, The Dreamseller, The Calling is an inspirational fable about a mysterious man who calls himself The Dreamseller. Wherever he goes, he enchants people and inspires them to search for the most important thing: the heart of the human soul. Every person he meets is someone who has abandoned their dreams and is going through a difficult time. Through his questioning, he helps them to overcome their turmoil by getting to the root of their unhappiness. The story begins with an accomplished university professor who threatens to leap off a building and end his life. He is so stirred by The Dreamseller that he follows him and becomes a dreamseller himself. Through the remainder of the story, we meet an alcoholic who has lost his family, and an overweight woman who believes she will never find true love. At the end of this moving tale the true identity of The Dreamseller is revealed. He is the owner of one of the biggest companies in the world, who married the love of his live and had two beautiful children. But he was always too busy to spend time with them. He finally planned a vacation but at the last minute there was a problem at work and he stayed behind. Before they left for the airport his nine year old son said: 'You are the best dad in the world and the busiest one too.' That was the last time he saw his family. The plane crashed. After losing the most important part of his life, the businessman decided to search inside his soul and to share his story with the world. This is how The Dreamseller was born. This moving fable brilliantly shows us how we should reflect on the purpose of life and to value those we love the most.
Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2011
Edition: 1st Atria Books hardcover ed.
ISBN: 9781439195727
Characteristics: viii, 246 p. ; 22 cm.
Additional Contributors: Landers, Clifford E.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top