The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale, 1925-1977

The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale, 1925-1977

Book - 2012
Rate this:
Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles he had previously established. His poems chart an adventure of consciousness and conscience in response to the shocks of modernity, fascism, and two world wars, and they also present several of the greatest erotic sequences in modern poetry.The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale publishes for the first time in English William Arrowsmith's pellucid translations of Poetic Diary 1971, 1972, and the Poetic Notebook, as well as his previously published translations of four volumes: Cuttlefish Bones, The Occasions, The Storm and Other Things, and Satura. With the wide range of Montale's poetry at last available to the English reader, this collection reveals Montale to be the greatest Italian poet of the twentieth century.
Publisher: New York : W. W. Norton & Co., c2012.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780393080636
0393080633
Characteristics: xxxiv, 793 p. ; 25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top