Haunted Castles

Haunted Castles

The Complete Gothic Stories

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"Part of a new six-volume series of the best in classic horror, selected by award-winning director Guillermo del Toro. Filmmaker and longtime horror literature fan Guillermo del Toro serves as the curator for the Penguin Horror series, a new collection of classic tales and poems by masters of the genre. Included here are some of del Toro's favorites, from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and Ray Russell's short story 'Sardonicus,' considered by Stephen King to be 'perhaps the finest example of the modern Gothic ever written,' to Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House and stories by Ray Bradbury, Joyce Carol Oates, Ted Klein, and Robert E. Howard. Featuring original cover art by Penguin Art Director Paul Buckley, these stunningly creepy deluxe hardcovers will be perfect additions to the shelves of horror, sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal aficionados everywhere. Haunted Castles Haunted Castles is the definitive, complete collection of Ray Russell's masterful Gothic horror stories, including the famously terrifying novella trio of 'Sardonicus,' 'Sanguinarius,' and 'Sagittarius.' The characters that sprawl through Haunted Castles are frightful to the core: the heartless monster holding two lovers in limbo; the beautiful dame journeying down a damned road toward depravity (with the help of an evil gypsy); the man who must wear his fatal crimes on his face in the form of an awful smile. Engrossing, grotesque, perverted, and completely entrancing, Russell's Gothic tales are the best kind of dreadful."-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, New York : Penguin Books, 2013.
ISBN: 9781101627112
1101627115
Characteristics: 1 online resource (xxxiv, 235 pages).
Additional Contributors: Toro, Guillermo del 1964-
OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lukasevansherman
Nov 24, 2014

I'm always on the lookout for overlooked sci-fi/horror/pulp writers and I'd never heard of Ray Russell until this 6-book series from Penguin, edited by director/horror enthusiast Gullermo Del Toro ("Hellboy," "Pan's Labyrinth"). Russell was an American writer who was an editor at "Playboy," where he was instrumental in publishing serious writers like Vonnegut and Bradbury. This volume collects his gothic stories, the highlights of which are his "S" trilogy of long stories: "Sardonicus," "Sanguinarius," about the notorious Countess Bathory, and "Sagittarius." Will appeal to fans of Poe, R.L. Stevenson, and Doyle. Cool cover too. Also in this series: "The Haunting of Hill House," "Frankenstein," Poe's stories, Lovecraft's tales, and an anthology of American supernatural stories.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top