Slow Learner

Slow Learner

Early Stories

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Compiling five short stories originally written between 1959 and 1964, Slow Learner showcases Thomas Pynchon's writing before the publication of his first novel V. The stories compiled here are "The Small Rain," "Low-lands," "Entropy," "Under the Rose," and "The Secret Integration," along with an introduction by Pynchon himself.
Publisher: New York, New York : The Penguin Press, 2012.
ISBN: 9781101594612
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Oct 31, 2013

The short story feels at odds with the capaciousness, sprawl and ambition of most of Pynchon's work. These 5 stories are from the 50s & 60s and, while not particularly memorable, they are interesting compared to what would come later. The best part is the short introduction from the author, who is notoriously private, but comes across as engaging, low-key and almost normal.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings


Find it at KCLibrary

To Top