Console Wars

Console Wars

Sega, Nintendo, and the Battle That Defined A Generation

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
7
3
1
Rate this:
"In the tradition of The Accidental Billionaires and Moneyball, a behind-the-scenes business thriller about how the small, scrappy Sega, led by one unlikely visionary, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and changed the face of entertainment"-- Provided by publisher.
"A mesmerizing, behind-the-scenes business thriller that chronicles how Sega, a small, scrappy gaming company led by an unlikely visionary and a team of rebels, took on the juggernaut Nintendo and revolutionized the videogame industry--in development as a feature film from Sony PicturesIn 1990, Nintendo had a virtual monopoly on the videogame industry. Sega, on the other hand, was just a faltering arcade company with big aspirations and even bigger personalities. But all that would change with the arrival of Tom Kalinske, a former Mattel executive who knew nothing about videogames and everything about fighting uphill battles. His unconventional tactics, combined with the blood, sweat, and bold ideas of his renegade employees, completely transformed Sega and led to a ruthless, David-and-Goliath showdown with Nintendo. Little did he realize that Sega's success would create many new enemies and, most important, make Nintendo stronger than ever.The battle was vicious, relentless, and highly profitable, eventually sparking a global corporate war that would be fought on several fronts: from living rooms and school yards to boardrooms and Congress. It was a once-in-a-lifetime, no-holds-barred conflict that pitted brother against brother, kid against adult, Sonic against Mario, and the United States against Japan.Based on more than two hundred interviews with former Sega and Nintendo employees, Console Wars is the tale of how Tom Kalinske miraculously turned an industry punch line into a market leader. Blake J. Harris brings into focus the warriors, the strategies, and the battles and explores how they transformed popular culture forever. Ultimately, Console Wars is the story of how a humble family man, with an extraordinary imagination and a gift for turning problems into competitive advantages, inspired a team of underdogs to slay a giant and, as a result, give birth to a sixty-billion-dollar industry"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, NY : It Books, 2014.
ISBN: 9780062276711
0062276719
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kwsmith
Jul 30, 2017

This thick business biography tells the story of Sega's rise and fall in the early 1990's as Nintendo, Sega, and Sony re-invented the gaming console and fought a pitched battle over the lucrative North American market. I enjoyed the candid behind-the-scenes descriptions of the political fighting and maneuvering between Sega of Japan and Sega of North America. Although this book focuses mostly on Sega, I found Sony's story most fascinating. The subject matter is very interesting, but the writing unfortunately isn't very strong.

m
mammothhawk229e
Jun 02, 2017

Great idea for author to interview mostly former Sega & Nintendo employees.
I certainly do remember the catchy Sega commercials in the 1990s or the senate hearings over Mortal Kombat's fatalities scenes.
Increased competition in video games & TV programs forced complacent Nintendo to be better.
Jealous Sega Japan internal war with Sega USA didn't help.

e
efngpo
Jul 08, 2016

Nintendo is better than Sega. No offense even though I had a Sega Genesis but the Nintendo Project Reality/Nintendo 64 was the first console I played as a kid

r
Rav3nclaw
Feb 08, 2016

A very informative book about the rise and fall of SEGA and its impact on the Video Game Industry. It is written from the perspective of Tom Kalinske, who spearheaded the marketing of SEGA within the North American HQ. It gave me a greater appreciation for the history of video games, especially with how Nintendo and SEGA shaped the industry.

s
soojiny33
Dec 22, 2014

good book. I liked it a lot. you might not believe me, but I am a 8 year old boy who read this. i wish i could have a SNES or a NES. it is about how former Mattel worker Tom Kalinske turned Sega, a small arcade company, into a company that fought Nintendo greatly... until the Sega Saturn and Donkey Kong Country turned the tide and gave Nintendo the advantage.

BCD2013 Jun 17, 2014

NYPL Staff Pick
Details how Sega rose from obscurity with the help of former Mattel executive Tom Kalinske. Kalinske exploited the limitations of video games and grew the company in such a way that Sega became a worthy competitor to Nintendo.
- Jenny Baum

BCD2013 Jun 17, 2014

NYPL Staff Pick
Details how Sega rose from obscurity with the help of former Mattel executive Tom Kalinske. Kalinske exploited the limitations of video games and grew the company in such a way that Sega became a worthy competitor to Nintendo.
- Jenny Baum, Jefferson Market

Age

Add Age Suitability

e
Edward4874
Mar 31, 2016

Edward4874 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 11 and 99

c
Cade2016
Mar 16, 2016

Cade2016 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 1 and 99

s
soojiny33
Dec 22, 2014

soojiny33 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 99

Summary

Add a Summary

e
EthanJohnson126
Aug 05, 2016

Detailing the battle between Sega of America and Nintendo of America in the 1990 to 1994 period, Console Wars is a stylized account of a video game battle that defined the home gaming industry. The narrative-style book is mainly told from the perspective of Tom Kalinske, president of Sega of America, detailing his contributions to the marketing push which allowed Sega's console the Genesis to take a 55 percent marketshare in 1993 over the Super Nintendo.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...

Other Formats

[]
[]
To Top