The Ramblers

The Ramblers

A Novel

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan--the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village--The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley's sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York's wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City--an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.

Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2016]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062413314
Characteristics: 385 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
cheadlebeagle
Aug 10, 2016

Enjoyed the first half of this book but then I felt it "rambled" on a bit too much. Needed some editing.

CMLibrary_sdeason Jun 20, 2016

Great summer read. The characters are believable and their choices real. Recommended for non-romance, literary readers.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...

Other Formats

  • eBook:
    Check availability Go to eBook
[]
[]
To Top