One Half From the East

One Half From the East

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi's first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda's family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won't last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi's first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : [publisher not identified], 2016.
ISBN: 9780062421920
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

f
FX_Teen_Librarian
Sep 13, 2017

How fascinating! This book is at surface a really interesting study of a cultural practice that takes place in Afghanistan, but while the descriptive passages give us a good picture of the life and thoughts of a ten year old girl, there is a deeper layer in place that provokes thoughts of what gender means and how easily perception can be changed by appearance. The plight of girls and women in Afghanistan is not exclusive to that country, and the plot of this story brings a chance to examine what women's rights mean to all of us.

e
Eil_1
Jul 17, 2017

This is an excellent story about the lives of young girls in the Middle East - in this case, Afghanistan. It tells about the tradition of bacha posh - a young girl who lives as a boy - free to run, climb trees, play sports - all forbidden to girls. They are imprisoned in a male-dominated culture that punishes any behavior deemed illegal by these misogynistic men on the part of girls or women. It is followed by the wonderful book "The Pearl That Broke Its Shell".

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...

Other Formats

[]
[]
To Top