Jackaby

Jackaby

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
21
1
Rate this:
Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary--including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby's assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it's an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain the foul deeds are the work of the kind of creature whose very existence the local authorities--with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane--seem adamant to deny.
Publisher: [United States] : Algonquin Young Readers : Made available through hoopla, 2014.
ISBN: 9781616204341
1616204346
Branch Call Number: eBook hoopla
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Alternative Title: hoopla (Digital media service)
Study Program: Accelerated Reader AR UG 6.2 11.0 168151.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
heavenne
Aug 31, 2017

The world building is interesting and good. There’s supernatural elements and creatures throughout the city in hiding. Those with special vision (Jackaby) would be able to spot them whereas Abigail accepts this - a little too accepting but going with the notion that she needed to find employment right away to survive, I suppose beggars can’t be choosers. It still ended up being the right choice anyway.

I would say, stick to the story because of the characters that you end up liking as the book progresses. It does get exciting in the last third of the book despite the lack of momentum in the beginning. It was still an enjoyable read.

Library_Jill May 31, 2017

This book was introduced to me as "supernatural Sherlock Holmes," and after reading, I can say that was a spot-on description. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and all of their quirks--I loved that Abigail so coveted a "detective notebook" throughout the story. Fans of Gail Carriger's books and--of course--Sherlock Holmes may want to try this series.

b
burgundy_fox_61
Dec 31, 2016

I won this book in the summer reading program last year. and never read it. Just recently picked it up and couldn't put it back down. It's so good! R. F. Jackaby reminded me of Newt Scamander from Fantastic Beasts and where to find them. 😊

j
joliver16
Dec 22, 2016

This book is fantastic! I love how they added the paranormal, fantasy twist to the Victorian-style mystery story. One of my top favorite books.

daniellevk_0 Nov 29, 2016

I like mystery but really enjoyed the twist to this detective where they investigate paranormal crime with ghosts and werewolf creatures. I also liked how the main character has a sense of adventure and wants to be in the spotlight helping with these investigations rather than being stuck on the sidelines or behind the scenes, especially since she is a young woman in the 1800s!

c
creativecorinne
Nov 11, 2016

It was a great book and I loved it, but it was quite predictable at times. The ending didn't quite make sense, coming from someone who was familiar with the creature that they were referring to.

p
Poc_Fada
Nov 10, 2016

A fun, quick read. Victorian-style mystery mixed in with a bit of the supernatural. The characters did slip out of time-frame a number of times with modern words (where was the editor?), "okay" being the most frequent. But, I took this as the price for the rest of the story, so to speak.

mvkramer Sep 23, 2016

Yet another book my colleagues loved that I could not get into. Maybe if there had been a different narrator? I didn't really like the voice she used for Jackaby and I couldn't get into it. I felt like the story was taking a long time to get started.

kirstd31 Aug 01, 2016

Sherlock meets the world of the supernatural. This was a fun mystery. I love how Abigail is seeking adventure and does not want to adhere to the rules of society. Jackaby is smart and quirky.

CMLReads_Kristin May 06, 2016

This will appeal to fans of Jonathan Stroud's Lockwood & Co. titles (The Screaming Staircase is book one). While we've got the Jackaby books shelved in teen, the content is similar. Fun read!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

h
halburba
Jun 24, 2016

halburba thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top