This Impossible Light

This Impossible Light

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
1
From the YouTube slam poetry star of "Shrinking Women" (more than 5 million views!) comes a novel in verse about body image, eating disorders, self-worth, mothers and daughters, and the psychological scars we inherit from our parents.Fifteen-year-old Ivy's world is in flux. Her dad has moved out, her mother is withdrawn, her brother is off at college, and her best friend, Anna, has grown distant. Worst of all, Ivy's body won't stop expanding. She's getting taller and curvier, with no end in sight. Even her beloved math class offers no clear solution to the imbalanced equation that has become Ivy's life. Everything feels off-kilter until a skipped meal leads to a boost in confidence and reminds Ivy that her life is her own. If Ivy can just limit what she eats—the way her mother seems to—she can stop herself from growing, focus on the upcoming math competition, and reclaim control of her life. But when her disordered eating leads to missed opportunities and a devastating health scare, Ivy realizes that she must weigh her mother's issues against her own, and discover what it means to be a part of—and apart from—her family. This Impossible Light explores the powerful reality that identity and self-worth must be taught before they are learned. Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins.Praise for This Impossible Light:★ "In an exceptional novel in verse, slam poet Myers debuts with a powerful commentary on maternal inheritance and eating disorders....striking use of the flexibility of free verse...absorbing and evocative." —Publishers Weekly, starred review "Written in evocative verse, with notes of wonder and despair, the cadence flows across and down the pages with grace. Lifted beyond the confines of the problem novel with its lyricism and resonance." —Kirkus Reviews
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : [publisher not identified], 2017.
ISBN: 9780698188846
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jul 24, 2018

I had never watched Lily Myers renowned spoken word “Shrinking Woman”, but after reading this novel in verse I had to, and I loved it. It was so powerful and brilliant, exactly like this novel. “This Impossible Light” is about a girl with an eating disorder; but she is so much more than that. If the author had not chosen to make this one of the topics and just focused on her day to day life, I would still read it because she was so well crafted and relatable. Ivy has never felt so broken apart, with her family torn in half and her brother distant. All she wants is for things to be back to normal so that she can focus on the math competition that’s coming up. Things go further when her best friend returns from Paris as a new person, unrecognizable and Ivy is replaced. I personally loved this collection, it was really touched your heart and is written beautifully. Some of the passages have such an air of melancholy to them. Rating 4/5
- @jewelreader of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

Age

Add Age Suitability

brihawkins13 Apr 06, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...
KCLibrary owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top