The Mysterious Benedict Society

The Mysterious Benedict Society

Book - 2017 | First Tenth Anniversary Edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
129
45
13
 …
After passing a series of mind-bending tests, four children are selected for a secret mission that requires them to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules.
Publisher: New York : Little, Brown and Company, [2017]
Edition: First Tenth Anniversary Edition.
ISBN: 9780316464918
0316464910
Characteristics: 485 pages, 37 unnumbered pages : black and white illustrations with red lettering ; 22 cm.
Additional Contributors: Ellis, Carson 1975-- Illustrator
Study Program: Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.6 18 113801.
Reading Counts RC 3-5 6.3 26 Quiz: 41085 Guided reading level: W.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Four very uniquely gifted children band together to save the world. This mystery grabs you from the start and doesn't slow down.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jan 20, 2021

This is a great book that gives classic mystery a new twist and makes it interesting not just for younger kids but for older audiences as well. Lee Stewart takes words and gives them new meaning as well as providing pictures that make the story easy to understand while also letting your imagination have go! But he doesn't even stop there; with fun-packed quizzes you can take and even your own mystery to solve, this book goes beyond others when it comes to keeping readers guessing at every turn. I would recommend this book to anyone from age 12 to 14 who wants a book that really makes you think! 5/5 stars
@C.L of the Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

s
sjpl_jtlee
Dec 23, 2020

An exciting read especially for children, this fictional work mainly focuses on a group of four children, each possessing unique talents. Together, they form the Benedict society, and are instructed to investigate an institution. Through many attempts to expose the institution’s secrets and its founder’s motives, the Benedict society advances to the last stage of the investigation—bringing down the founder. Read the book to find out more about what happens to the four children. I liked the author’s style of delving into character details, and by the end of the adventure I felt that I had gained insight into the diverse relationships between characters. A major portion of the novel had my eyes glued to the page, especially due to the author’s incorporation of various troublesome situations for the Benedict society. These nerve wracking scenes played a major role in making the read enticing, and for me they were very effective. I would not be afraid to recommend this book to anyone, as it is appropriate for all ages of sufficient reading level.
Age rating: 9 and up

b
blue_dolphin_3008
Dec 08, 2020

This book is about 4 child prodigies learning to be secret agents under Mr. Nicholas Benedict. I loved Mysterious Benedict Society! It was exciting, adventurous, and funny. I could really relate to the characters too. It was well written and easy to understand. Highly suggested!

pacl_teens Dec 02, 2020

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, also the author of The Secret Keepers, is the first book in The Mysterious Benedict Society series. The book is centered around a young bright child called Reynard Muldoon, often referred to as Reynie. Reynie, an orphan living in Stonetown with his tutor, Miss Perumal, came across an advertisement in their local newspaper, calling for gifted children looking for special opportunities. Reynie decides to take the opportunity, and ends up joining a secret group led by Mr. Benedict to prevent his evil brother, Ledroptha Curtain, from creating widespread chaos by manipulating the minds of common people through televisions and radios. Reynie and his group of friends, Kate, Sticky, and Constance, infiltrates Mr. Curtain’s special school called The Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, to gain more knowledge of Mr. Curtain’s plans.
The Mysterious Benedict Society, along with the other two books, “The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Perilous Journey” and “The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Prisoner's Dilemma”, is one of my favorite series. There is also another book by Trenton Lee Stewart detailing Mr. Benedict's life as a child, The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict, that I enjoyed. I highly recommend all of the books, especially for people who enjoy Roald Dahl books, giving the series a 4.5 out of 5 stars. - Nikolai, Grade 8

l
LegendStrike
Oct 28, 2020

My english schoolbook recommended this for me, no regrets! Hands down one of the best books Ive read this year!

r
red_beetle_312
Jul 21, 2020

book+plot= AMAZING

m
maroon_baboon_404
Jun 01, 2020

This book is, and indeed has been, one of my favorites for years. Its story is a captivating masterpiece of mystery and adventure, and the book itself is written with more advanced sentence structures and techniques that accentuate, but do not confuse, the plot. Any reader who's looking for a story with rich language, detailed characters, and a fantastic story should absolutely try this one out.

b
blue_horse_577
May 30, 2020

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart is a well- written, detailed book, with an exciting plot. Four children, all with distinct unique talents, are brought together by Mr. Benedict. He has a mission for them, a mission that will decide the fate of the world. To complete this mission, they must go undercover and try to stop Mr. Curtain from brainwashing to the world. Completing this mission will require them to push themselves, for the fate of the world is in their hands. This book is remarkably well written, and though the plot lingers a bit, it is so detail-rich that it never feels boring. The plot, though complicated, is explained very well that you never feel overwhelmed. If you like mystery and adventure, this is the book for you!

i
ian12300
Apr 08, 2020

A wild ride that kids, teens and adults alike will enjoy with characters, setting and story that are more than face value. It is a large book, especially for kids (at nearly 500 pages), however you will find it reads in a breeze and once you've finished it, you'll come back again and again as you just can't get enough of it. The continuing series also holds true to this.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Dec 05, 2019

The Mysterious Benedict Society is as mysterious as it sounds. But I still managed to get some information about the plot, the characters and the author of the book. This I will tell you during the review. The Mysterious Benedict Society was written by Trenton Lee Stewart and published in 2007. The book is very famous - Goodreads has 110000 ratings and 10000 reviews! Trenton Lee Stewart was born in 1970, May 28 in USA. But let's get into the plot! A newspaper posted a curious advertisement - someone was looking for gifted children. Those kids would have to write a test to get qualified. Reynold Munrold, an orphan, decides to go ahead and give himself a try. Apparently, he passed them all despite tough competition. Along with him, 2 more girls and 1 boy passed the tests - Kate Wetherall, Constance Contraire and George "Sticky" Washington. They all have extraordinary minds. Reynold is good at solving problems, Sticky has a sticky and an encyclopedic knowledge of many subjects, Kate is good at surviving and has practical knowledge, and Constance... Well, it is hard to explain. You will understand later in the book why she is considered so gifted. All of the kids are united with a mission to save the world against Ledroptha Curtain, a great scientist and the principal of The Learning Institute of the Very Enlightened. That is where he constructs his mind-blowing machines that erase your memory. The kids must go to the Institute undercover and with fake documents. They will become spies for Mr. Benedict while he discovers a surprising thing about Ledroptha Curtain. Which one, I will not tell you, since it is up to you to find out that. The book had some pretty good plot twists up its sleeve that made me gasp with shock. It is not very hard to read, since there are no difficult or controversial topics there. Though it is thick - 484 pages, I read it in a few days without much effort. 4/5 Stars. @readermariacom of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
b
blue_dolphin_3008
Dec 08, 2020

blue_dolphin_3008 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

l
LegendStrike
Oct 28, 2020

LegendStrike thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

b
blue_falcon_2185
Jul 27, 2020

blue_falcon_2185 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 25

o
orange_dog_5148
Jun 05, 2020

orange_dog_5148 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

b
black_swan_282
Nov 25, 2019

black_swan_282 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

v
violet_owl_1193
Apr 05, 2019

violet_owl_1193 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

g
Gwen904
Jun 05, 2018

Gwen904 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

v
violet_gorilla_79
May 17, 2017

kasiahansen thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

RobertELPL Mar 04, 2017

RobertELPL thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

a
ashentrouble
Feb 27, 2017

ashentrouble thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

View All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary
s
slin_8
Jun 25, 2015

Reynie Muldoon, a kid at the local orphanage, decides to take these peculiar tests when an ad in the newspaper attracts his attention. He meets three other friends along the way, and they are sent on a mission to stop Mr. Curtain, after they learn that he is sending people messages via television or radio signals. The four friends, Reynie, Kate, Sticky, and Constance go to the Learning Instutite for the Very Enlightened (LIVE) to act as secert agents and stop Mr. Curtain from boosting the power of the messages with his Whisperer. Reynie and Sticky soon rise up to Messenger status and are able to send these messages. But will they stop Mr. Curtain or are they too late?

p
Poe26
May 31, 2015

At the beginning, Reynie Muldoon is a lonely orphan who's only friend is his tutor, Miss Perumal. Though he is exeptionnaly smart, Reynie is teased and mocked by the other boys. So, when one morning, as Reynie and Miss Perumal are readind the paper as they usually do, they spot an add reading " Are yo a child looking for special opportunities?" And it is at this instant that Miss Perumal insists upon him taking the test. Once Reynie gets there, one of the questions is " Are you brave?" And this is where the adventure begins...

j
joycemas
Jul 15, 2014

"Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?"

When this peculiar ad appears in the newspaper, dozens of children enroll to take a series of mysterious, mind-bending tests. (And you, dear reader, can test your wits right alongside them.) But in the end just four very special children will succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and resourceful children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules.

As our heroes face physical and mental trials beyond their wildest imaginations, they have no choice but to turn to each other for support. But with their newfound friendship at stake, will they be able to pass the most important test of all?

alperkins Jun 07, 2014

When four kids take an unusual puzzle-and pass- they find themselves working alongside a brilliant man named Mr. Benedict, who is determined to save the world from an evil Sender. The children are put into the middle of the danger when they have to go into the very lair of the Sender himself. The outcome is sketchy, and the danger very real. Only by their quick wits and amazing talents do they overcome the enemy, at least for the moment.

r
Reading_Robot
Jun 04, 2014

Probably one of the best books I have ever read. Its sense of mystery made me want to keep reading forever. Anyways, it's about a group of children who all pass a series of tests set up by Mr.Benedict, who is looking for a group of children to help him defeat Mr. Curtain, the leader of the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, and Mr. Benedict's twin brother. To do this, the children- Kate, an energetic girl, Reynie, an excellent leader, Sticky, a walking dictionary, encyclopedia, thesaurus and calculator, and Constance, a stubborn 3-year old toddler whose gifts prove to be the most important, have to go to LIVE themselves to find out more about Mr. Curtain' plots. If I said any more, I would ruin the story, so- i guess- that's all!

c
Curtisgirls04
Oct 23, 2013

A group of child prodigies working together to defeat a madman who seeks to become the master of the world. Who wouldn't like to start reading!?

When I first saw this book the cover of the book made me think okay, this book might be a little strange and spooky. Was I wrong! This is now one of my favorite books! This is book is full of morally uplifting, well, goodness. A wonderful mystery adventure with plenty of cleverness and humor. I nice clean plot with no lurking evil. There is absolutely no foul or crude language. I've ended up reading this book time and time again(and have now added it to my personal collection!) it's just the type that doesn't get old! This book is good for all ages if you just want to put your nose in a good fast-paced, well developed novel. Younger audiences may become confused as this book has an advanced vocabulary.

Now, finally, my summary:
This book takes place in a city called Stonetown. There, a young orphan named Reynie takes a series of tests when he sees a strange add offering "special opportunities".
He soon meets up with two other kids: one named Sticky, and the other named Kate. They together take another test and meet a girl named Constance. Once they finish they meet Mr. Benedict, a kindly middle aged man with narcolepsy. soon after they intercept a radio broadcast. And before they know it they are on a top secret missions facing one of the world's most brilliant geniuses and mad men! Together they develop their talents and mak life wrong friendships. As they struggle together to save the worldm time is running out! Will they save the world and maybe even more importantly save their friendship? Find out and read the mysterious benedict society by Trenton lee Stewart. Check quotes for a poem from one of this trilogy- I think it's hilarious!

b
Blue_Panda_76
Jun 30, 2013

The Mysterious Benedict Society is about 4 kids (It's mostly about the kids. There's adults in it too, but it mainly focuses on the children). All of them are accepted after taking puzzling test, that seem much harder than they really are. After being assembled, all of them infiltrate L.I.V.E., a place of evil, to learn of missing agents' whereabouts, to find out what sends out the secret messages, and who's behind all these sinister plots!

c
cenchen
Jun 18, 2013

a book full of suspence, mind boggling, and wit this is a MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

a
awesome17
Feb 07, 2013

If you are 9-12 and looking for a book filled with mind boggling suspense and chalenges to get your brain pumping then the Mysterious Benedict Society is for you! In this great book four gifted children go through numerous tests to proove their skills. After they passed they must go on a dangerous and crazy mission to save the world. Will they make it with their new friendship at stake? Read the book to find out!

k
kenzb97
Aug 10, 2012

It was only a peculiar ad in a simple newspaper. Nothing more, nothing less. But for a few hand-picked children, this article was the beginning a series of mind-bending tests and mysterious adventures that would erratically change their lives.
Join the Mysterious Benedict Society as they begin to unravel the most difficult mystery they've ever encountered. Their lives, and possibly the fate of the whole world, rest in these children's hands.
And who says that children can't save the world?
Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance. Out of dozens of very capable children, these four were the ones selected for the special mission of the wise, mysterious Mr. Benedict. The genius had his reasons for picking the children, their amazing IQ, their extreme stubbornness, their logical thinking, and their thirst for adventure. But each child all had one thing in common, and that was the main reason Mr. Benedict brought these four children together.
A common ground that made their mission seem all the more dangerous.
So, Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance have a choice. Do they accept this dangerous mission, with unforeseen woe and forlorn trials? Or do they go back to the lives they had known and become the simple children they once were?
And if some of them do accept, will they be able to withstand the trials before them as secret agents?

View All Summaries

Quotes

Add a Quote
v
violet_gorilla_79
Oct 08, 2020

"Kate winked. "I may not know when the Cenozoic Era was - "
Sticky was aghast. "Kate, we live in the Cenozoic Era. Sure, it began 65 million years ago, but - " - The Mysterious Benedict Society

s
slin_8
Jun 25, 2015

“You must remember, family is often born of blood, but it doesn't depend on blood. Nor is it exclusive of friendship. Family members can be your best friends, you know. And best friends, whether or not they are related to you, can be your family.”
__quotation_badge_criteria__

j
jlowrey1969
Jul 31, 2014

"It sounds like there are no rules here at all," Sticky said.
"That's true George," said Jillson."Virtually none, in fact. You can Wear whatever you want, just so long as you have on trousers, shoes, and a shirt. You can bathe as often as you like or not at all, provided you're clean every day in class. You can eat whatever and whenever you want, so long as it's during meal hours in the cafeteria. You're allowed to keep the lights on in your rooms as late as you wish until ten o'clock each night. And you can go wherever you want around the Institute,so long as you keep to the paths and the yellow-tiled corridors."

m
Man123
Jul 21, 2014

amazing

green_turtle_775 Jul 19, 2013

"Reynie and Sticky looked at each other in awe. Who was this girl?"

c
cenchen
Jun 18, 2013

control is the key
-leodroptha curtain

soccergirl8 Jul 18, 2012

'''If any child is caught cheating, then he or she will be executed ----'' The children gasped. ''I'm sorry, did I say executed? I meant to say escorted. Any child caught cheating will be escorted from the building at once."'

b
blsh
May 15, 2011

'' There will be no talking! '' boomed the pencil woman, who entered just then, slamming the door behind her. She strode briskly to the front of the room, carrying a tall stack of papers and a jar of pickles. ''If any child is caught cheating, then he or she will be executed ----''

The children gasped.

''I'm sorry, did I say executed? I meant to say escorted. Any child caught cheating will be escorted from the building at once.

b
bluebelle11
Feb 07, 2011

They also knew they must act now or never. 'Tomorrow then,' Sticky said.

b
bluebelle11
Feb 07, 2011

Reynie did stumble against something which - if seen from a distance and not stared at directly - might resemble a plan.

View All Quotes

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top