Nothing to See Here

Nothing to See Here

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
38
1
"Kevin Wilson's best book yet--a moving and uproarious novel about a woman who finds meaning in her life when she begins caring for two children with remarkable and disturbing abilities... Lillian and Madison were the unlikeliest of roommates at their elite boarding school: Madison, the daughter of a prominent Atlanta family, being groomed for greatness; Lillian, a scholarship student, plucked out of nowhere based solely on her intellect and athletic prowess. The two were as tight as could be, reveling in their unique weirdnesses, until Lillian had to leave the school unexpectedly. Years later, the two have lost touch, but Madison writes and begs Lillian for help. Her husband's twin stepkids are moving in with them and she wants Lillian to be their caretaker. However, there's a catch: the twins can spontaneously combust when they get agitated, flames igniting from their skin in a disturbing but beautiful way. Disbelieving at first but ultimately too intrigued by these strange children, Lillian agrees. And as they hunker down in the pool house, Lillian and the twins learn to trust each other--and stay cool--just as Madison's family is bracing for a major announcement. It all seems impossible to manage, but Lillian soon accepts that she and the children need each other, urgently and fiercely. With a white-hot wit and a big, tender heart, Kevin Wilson has written a most unusual story of deep parental love that proves to be his best book yet"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2019.
ISBN: 9780062913463
0062913468
Characteristics: 254 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

A moving and uproarious novel about a woman who finds meaning in life when she begins caring for twins with remarkable and disturbing abilities, namely that when they become agitated, they spontaneously combust.

This book is funny and tragic. Wilson is an intelligent writer that allows readers to not question using their imagination. The characters are believable, broken, and trying. -- Haley Lips, Collection Development

A funny, snarky narrator takes on the job of caretaker for kids with remarkable and strange abilities. Everyone involved learns that sometimes all we need after being repeatedly let down is someone to rely on. For fans of Chuck Kosterman and Gary Shteyngart.--Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
v
veneciaa
Mar 23, 2021

I don't think I've ever laughed so much while reading a book! The narrator is hilarious and the story is fun and silly.

WPL_JessB Mar 23, 2021

What a weird, wonderful romp! This was such a fast funny read, and the characters were so strange and yet so loveable. It's a perfect book to pick up when you need a palette cleanser or just a fun detour into the (kind of) absurd!

JCLAMYK Feb 25, 2021

The premise of spontaneously combustible children is odd but funny. A story about friendship, real family and love.

j
jmotzer
Jan 01, 2021

Hilarious and emotionally engaging. Lillian, the book's narrator, is the wise-crackingest voice since Holden Caufield. So many lines in the book stopped me dead in my tracks. I re-read them several times to luxuriate in their inventiveness and unvarnished honestly. I'm a guy so maybe I shouldn't go here, but the New York Times reviewer, a woman, also said, it's amazing that a male writer could create such a believable female narrator. This has my highest recommendation.

n
njkstl
Dec 31, 2020

Laurie recommendation.

s
ScorchingSun
Dec 19, 2020

A smart, wisecracking but emotionally lost woman leads a sad existence.
Sombre and introspective. Some flashes of wacko humour.
--------------------
BTW, in the cover picture: I don't believe the character there is doing a Marilyn Monroe subway grate skirt-fluttering imitation.

Gr33nbird Dec 18, 2020

Clever, with quirky characters, wry humor, and just the right amount of tenderness. Great for a plane ride or if you just want to forget about life for a while.

p
ppisciotta
Dec 10, 2020

Easy reading, not really that interesting. ***

c
C_reads
Nov 15, 2020

Loved this book and laughed out loud and cried. Everyone should read this book

s
sess430
Oct 05, 2020

Compulsively readable, outrageously funny book with a sweet ending. Recommended!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
ArapahoeStaff26 Jan 06, 2020

And if I'd driven to the basket right then, I would have hit an easy layup, but I let her recover. I drove and then did my... And when Madison felt that pressure from me, that movement, she turned and ran to the basket, too... I was about to reach it when I felt something hard slam into my face, and all these stars blasted into my head, this stinging pain... 'She hit you in the face,' Bessie said, 'with her elbow.' 'It was an accident, of course,' Madison said. 'shit, I'm sorry, Lillian.'

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top