The Invisible Life of Addie Larue

The Invisible Life of Addie Larue

eBook - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
33
11
A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget. France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets. Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world. But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name. In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Life After Life , The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab's genre-defying tour de force. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : [publisher not identified], 2020.
ISBN: 9780765387585
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From Library Staff

The book that got Kaite through the start of the pandemic quarantine. Want to start over? What if you spent your life starting over because your life never ended and no could remember you after meeting you? At the tail end of the 17th century, in the midst of a life-threatening situation, Addie b... Read More »

Addie is an adventurer and not ready to settle for village life, so she makes a
deal with the devil. Instead of relinquishing her soul, however, she becomes
immortal, and also completely forgotten by anyone who meets her. Then,
after a lonely 300 years, she meets Henry. For fans of the Shades of ... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
Cayteadid
Apr 16, 2021

The premise of the story was so interesting, and the writing had really beautiful moments, but I had so much trouble getting into the book. It took a long time to finally get to the point, and many of the details about her situation and the "rules" of it were repeated in various scenarios. The chapters were short, so I thought I would speed through it, but it was a struggle. I wish they had cut the repetition and foreshadowing to just tell the story.

w
whitwedam
Apr 13, 2021

Ugh.
When you want to find out the plot twist but the writing style and characters make you not want to read the book.
I thought the premise of this book sounded interesting but I could NOT get into it. The voice of the writer was not at all compelling and in fact irritated me. Like they were trying too hard to be artistic. I don’t mind a slow book if it’s worth it, this one wasn’t. The character development and even likability was very low for me as well.
I read the first 20 pages, skimmed until she met Henry, and skipped to the end. Honestly feel like I didn’t miss anything important in those 200+ pages I missed.
Also, stealing and sleeping around to find places to live and things to eat is basically the most uncreative way to sustain an immortal life. It felt like a way for the author to live out her own sexual and kleptomaniac fantasies. The only part of the book I found myself enjoying was when she snuck into the actors apartment.

I loved this book, and it was a tear jerker for me at the end. I loved the different POVs, and how we got glimpses into Addie's past and the struggles she endured with her curse. The relationship he develops with Henry is such a special connection for the two that thought they'd never break the bonds of their curse again, and the ending continued to show Addie's spirit.

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Mar 15, 2021

A centuries-spanning tale of a woman cursed for wanting more. A love story, with a stinger at the end.

JCLPiepieB Mar 09, 2021

I usually don't do fantasy, but I'm a sucker for books about immortality/characters living a really, REALLY long time.

This was my first V.E. Schwab book. The writing is smooth and lovely, and the storyline is painfully beautiful.

I did get a little confused on all the bouncing back and forth between time periods, but that's probably just my fault and hopefully you can pay attention better ;)

Addie will take hold of your heart and not let go. I loved how layers were subtly unfolded and revealed to the reader. And that ending was PERFECT.

WPL_Erin Mar 04, 2021

“Because happiness is brief, and history is lasting, and in the end, everyone wants to be remembered”

Absolutely stunning novel. An incredible story about what it means to be human, to be lonely and the impact we leave on the world.

r
Rubytuzday77
Mar 03, 2021

I don't read fiction much (typically biographies) but I loved this book! Even though the story jumps back & forth in time, the author did so artistically and with purpose, to help build the story & suspense.  The premise is not flawless, but that's easily forgivable since the story is so unique and captivating.  Great character development and perfectly timed plot twists.  Made me think about how I would survive in a world of reverse dementia where I remembered everything but no one remembered me. 

LCPL_Krystyna Feb 22, 2021

There are no words to put together to form a proper review for this work of art. This book is literal perfection. I loved this book so much and it is definitely a favorite book of all-time for me. The writing is beautiful and the story is unforgettable. I will always remember you Addie Larue.

r
rpakrasi
Feb 20, 2021

The novel follows a young woman named Addie LaRue, who is living in early eighteenth century France. This historical fiction meets fantasy story explores Addie's relationships with others as well as herself, when her whole life is thrown off course by one decision
While the idea of the story was interesting, it was repetitive and slow in the beginning. It took a long time for the plot to begin. Overall, it was a nice book to read once but I would not revisit it.

d
dandetiger
Feb 07, 2021

Good, but kind of long and repetitive (which I think was a deliberate artistic choice, since Addie herself is bored of a repetitive and empty life). It's very similar to A Witch in Time by Constance Sayers, another 2020 book that I enjoyed but where I had some discomfort with the romance and relationships.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
LCPL_Krystyna Feb 22, 2021

“But if you only walk in other people's steps, you cannot make your own way. You cannot leave a mark.”

LCPL_Krystyna Feb 22, 2021

“Live long enough, and you learn how to read a person. To ease them open like a book, some passages underlined and others hidden between the lines.”

LCPL_Krystyna Feb 22, 2021

“The first mark she left upon the world, long before she knew the truth, that ideas are so much wilder than memories, that they long and look for ways of taking root”

LCPL_Krystyna Feb 22, 2021

“Do you know how to live three hundred years?” she says. And when he asks how, she smiles. “The same way you live one. A second at a time.”

LCPL_Krystyna Feb 22, 2021

“Blink, and the years fall away like leaves.”

LCPL_Krystyna Feb 22, 2021

“Stories are a way to preserve one's self. To be remembered. And to forget.”

LCPL_Krystyna Feb 22, 2021

“What is a person, if not the marks they leave behind?”

LCPL_Krystyna Feb 22, 2021

“Books, she has found, are a way to live a thousand lives--or to find strength in a very long one.”

y
yulker
Jan 03, 2021

"Nothing is all good or all bad," she says. "Life is so much messier than that."

y
yulker
Jan 03, 2021

History is a thing designed in retrospect.

View All Quotes

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at KCLibrary

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top